Departments‎ Departments‎


Departments are composed of faculty members specializing in one or more disciplines that form the most basic academic units of the universities, and decisions on research activities in this group are adopted.

The most important tasks of the training groups include: compiling and updating the lesson, arranging training programs and monitoring the presentation of courses, examining research projects, examining the exchanges and missions of the group members, and anticipating the need for the group to recruit new faculty members.

In this regard, in september 1970, the Commission for the Selection of the Board of Trustees of the University of Tehran approved the two groups of Physics Education for Earth Physics and Space Physics for the Geophysics Institute. These two groups are undergraduate and postgraduate degrees in geophysical and meteorological sciences.

Considering the importance of the position of seismology science in Iran, in June 2017, the council of the University of Tehran approved the establishment of seismology Department from the Department of Earth Physics. In this Department, students are admitted to undergraduate and postgraduate degrees.